yoga & music

I know there are a lot of people  in debate about the concept of playing music in yoga class. I see your point- yoga should be for quieting the mind, listening to only your breath and your body. But I LOVE music during yoga. I was raised in a musical family, and have been a pianist for years so I might be extra sensitive to the feelings that music can evoke. Anything to enhance the experience of the student and help them connect is a good thing, in my opinion.

Urban Yoga Spa occasionally offers amazing themed classes “Get the Led Out” Led Zeppelin power vinyasa, “Lighten Up” pop music power vinyasa, Madonna, etc. They are fun and really get you out of your routine. I recently did a two hour ‘music intense’ class and what really picked me up was “Don’t Stop Believin'” played right in the middle of our flow. That’s all it takes- something to break you out of any frustration you have and get you to smile. I think it’s very possible to have a focused practice accompanied by music. At The Grinning Yogi, a new studio in Seattle, the concept of every class is based around music.

I am CONSTANTLY looking for new music for my practice and imagining what songs I’ll play in classes of my own someday. I’ll only share two today, because if you’re like me, you get excited to get brand new music all the time. I swear, this is good shit.

My Current playlists-

Salutations. A high energy playlist I pair with a modified Baptiste flow. It was made for Vinyasa!

Don’t Panic. For a more mellow, restorative session with lots of fun, focused experimentation.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
