Arm Balances I

20120821-075031.jpg

Oh, arm balances. An amazing use of arms, core, and balance. But mostly they just look really cool.

I probably, apart from a vinyasa flow, practice arm balances more than anything at home. That’s where I perfected crow pose, crane pose, side crow, and this side crow with extended legs that I’ve learned is one of the koundinyasanas. It’s too sweaty to really focus during hot yoga and no fun to fall on your face during class.

I love the strength I feel doing a good crow pose in class. I have limited experience with these, but am eager to learn more. Any tips?

My tips:

-Keep your core really strong and sucked up into your spine. Over compensate and freeze this way.

-Think about the shape that your body is in for balance. If your legs are going to the left, you’re going to have to lean to the right to even out.

-Keep the creases of your elbows strongly turned forward and finger-tips gripping the ground to protect your wrists.

-Don’t give up! I am shocked how much I’ve improved since my first attempt.

Have a wonderful Tuesday. Let’s do this week right.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

words

