Asana of the week: plow

Hala Asana! Working on getting my back straighter

Hala-Asana

Since the past few weeks have been dominated by discussion of power moves and invigorating flows, I decided to select an asana that just feels damn good.

I love plow. I love how it’s normally towards the end of a class so you can tell you’ve crossed the desert and are almost to the promised land of savasana.

There are so many good things going on here:

Jalandhara bandha. Also known as the chin lock, which stimulates your thyroid and metabolism as you press your chin to your chest.

Spine therapy. An amazing, elongating stretch through your back and spine as gravity opens you up.

Inversion. The benefits of inversions are amazing from increased circulation to feeling sharper mentally. A post about them here!

I like to bring my hands to my toes at first, breathe and relax into it. Then I bring my arms to my sides and bind my hands behind my body; compressing my neck to my chest like crazy. A step by step guide to plow pose here.

Watch it. Women on their mentrual cycles should not do plow pose. I don’t know why, I’ve just been told this by many teachers. Anyone know why?

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Asana of the week: plow

  1. […] In my research for my post few days ago exploring Chakras, I found this great little chart that shows them in action. With this chart it’s easy to make the connection between the chakras used in a sun salutation and the chakras used in other poses. For instance, the Vishuddha (throat) chakra that is stimulated in your standing back bend is also used in fish pose when the head is brought back. The same chakra is suppressed in poses where Jalandhara Bandha,  or the chin lock, is used such as plow pose. […]

words

