Yoga for Cyclists

On Sunday my father and I went to a “yoga for cyclists” seminar hosted by teacher Kelli Refer from The Grinning Yogi in Seattle. I do not cycle, but my retired father rides every day, about 100 miles a week, sometimes more.

One thing I know for sure- whatever you do, yoga makes you do it better. So, I dragged him to the seminar, thinking something catered to cyclists would be a better time for a somewhat inexperienced yogi.

It was a great seminar, it was obvious the girl leading it had spent much time and energy writing and illustrating a book of yoga poses and breathing techniques for a cyclist.

Everything was very appropriate for the typical cyclist- there were sequences for 2 minutes and 5 minutes. Modified half sun salutations, quads, heart openers, and hips were emphasized.

At the end I asked what two stretches would be the best to do. I couldn’t imagine my father in our garage busting out sun salutations. She decided on a modified ‘wing pose’ and a modified dancer’s pose. My very favorite stretch was a super intense quad stretch we did by placing our shin flush to the wall and bending the opposite knee.

We all left with a poster and information sheet to refer to.

Kelli’s official Yoga for Bikers blog is here.

Buy a copy of Pedal, Stretch, Breathe here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Yoga for Cyclists

  1. […] Little Windmill is a yoga blog that offers insight into many different elements of yoga, highlighting poses, studio reviews and other yoga insights. Christina highlighted the Pedal, Stretch, Breathe workshop that I taught at The Grinning Yogi here.  […]

  2. Leon says:

    I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you
    spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of time,
    there is an online tool that creates high quality,
    google friendly posts in minutes, just type in google – laranitas
    free content source

words

