Fuel II: Green Smoothie Love

One of the major staples of my diet, especially in the summer, is green smoothies. I used to be very skeptical of these because I thought they’d be completely nasty, but I have to say they’ve been such a positive change in my diet. To me, Sun Warrior Vanilla Protein is delicious and improves the texture so much. My gentlemen friend is a fan of Vega Chocolate.  I add greens to every smoothie because I figure it would be difficult to eat that much spinach on its own, and supposedly it’s easier to digest blended up. Some people object to smoothies because they’re ‘pure sugar,’ but I find that coupling them with greens and a healthy source of protein is amazing fuel for my yoga practice, work, or just a long day ahead.

In the Mix:

Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk

Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Vanilla Protein

-1 banana

-Frozen mixed berries/frozen blueberries

Açai unsweetened smoothie packs

Sweet Greens with Lemon juice or Essential Greens Juice

-Spinach

Adjust the amounts of each ingredient to achieve the taste/texture that you like. If you’re not used to greens and the idea makes you cringe, just add a tiny bit at a time. After a couple smoothies add some more, and so on and so forth. You will be a green smoothie master in no time!

Sun Warrior Raw Vegan Vanilla Protein Nutrition:

Serving Size: 1 scoop (21gm.)
Amount Per Serving
Calories 70 Calories from fat   5
%Daily Value*  
Total Fat 1g 1%
Saturated Fat 0g 0%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0g 0%
Sodium 50mg 2%
Total Carbohydrate 4g 1%
Dietary Fiber 1g 5%
Sugars 0g
Protein 15g
Ingredients: Whole brown rice protein, stevia, xanathan gum, vanilla

One drawback of this magical stuff is that it’s a little spendy. I look for it on sale and on amazon.

Love my smoothies, how do you fuel?

An entertaining video about green smoothies

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Fuel II: Green Smoothie Love

  1. daisy says:

    What does spinach taste like in smoothies? or kale?

    • sti says:

      I think spinach tastes better than any other type of greens. It’s mild and the banana and berries over power any greenish taste it would add!

  2. samantha L says:

    Love acai but haven’t seen it at stores. I like green powder in smoothies but it’s also expensive. I wanna try sun warrior

words

