Don’t just do something, sit there

“Practicing meditation means learning how to get out of this current, sit by its banks and listen to it, learn from it, and then use its energies to guide us.”

I am currently reading the book Wherever You Go, There You Are by Jon Kabat-Zinn as required by my teacher training program. It’s wonderful, I love the snippets of inspiration I get from it without it being corny. Props to the author on writing a book teaching you about meditation, if there’s one thing that’s difficult to describe, its not thinking. As a person who’s mind is endlessly jumping from thought to thought, slowing down seems near impossible. I am determined to try meditating outside of yoga class, but I’m honestly afraid I will fail or ‘do it wrong.’ Like most people I recognize progress by creating a bar graph style system in my brain. The book addresses these things-

“You might get caught up in wanting a ‘special experience’ or in looking for signs of pregress, and if you don’t feel something special pretty quickly, you may start to doubt the path you have chosen, or to wonder whether you are ‘doing it right.’ Meditation is different. From the perspective of meditation, every state is a special state, every moment a special moment.”

While the author does a good job of describing techniques for meditation, it seems for the most part that you don’t really get it until you experience it. I feel that there is a buzz, something I haven’t tapped into yet. Some state of non-judgemental, peaceful stillness that can make you feel more clearly in this very moment.

For now, I use yoga as my moving meditation. A dance that calms my mind and body. Lately I have been flowing through sun salutations with my eyes closed, it’s amazing the sensations you experience when one of your main senses is turned off. I think, like yoga, meditation will be a life long practice for me. It’s simply the choice to spend some quality time with myself. Oh boy.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Don’t just do something, sit there

  1. epilepsymeandneurology says:

    i like! SOOO true. Read a book on breathing last night before bed – quote went something like – ‘the student said to the teacher I tried to mediate but my legs and my back were sore- the teacher said ‘it will pass’, a week later the student went to the teacher and said I mediated and it was wonderful, peaceful bliss – the teacher said ‘it will pass’.
    I will look for your kabat-zin book. 🙂

  2. The book you are reading seems to be wonderful. I love meditation also… I feel that it gives me more strength to get through my day, and provides me with strength to reach my goals in life.

words

