Chocolate & Brahmacharya

Vices…we’ve all got them! I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve gotten up in the morning with chocolate as the very first thought on my mind(eating some as I write this). Everything in moderation…which brings me to Patanjali’s yoga sutra 2.38!

brahmacharya pratisthayam virya labhah

  • brahmacharya- walking in awareness of the highest reality, absolute reality, remembering the divine, practicing the presence of God; continence
  • pratisthayam- having firmly established, being well grounded in
  • virya- strength, vitality, courage
  • labhah- is attained

“Devoted to living a balanced and moderate life (Brachmacharya), the scope of one’s life force becomes balanced.”

Nichala Joy Devi‘s translation

Note that this sutra does not say, “never ever eat chocolate or drink wine because it’s not healthy for you,” nor does it say, “never ever have sex or spend a day watching Lost in your pajamas.” It can be difficult not to manipulate life so it fits our desires, for instance, I have the ability to eat chocolate all day. But I’m not going to. Part of living a life of moderation (Brachmacharya) means understanding the rhythms that give us the best energy and allow us to ‘balance our life force.’

Now some chocolate! When I do eat chocolate, I try to make it something that’s at least partially beneficial to my health. Raw chocolates are a bit different than processed, but prepared correctly are every bit as delicious! Raw Cacao is actually a super food, which is a super excuse to eat it!

My Favorites: 

Artisana Raw Cacao Bliss

Ingredient: Artisana Organic Raw Coconut Butter, Organic Raw Coconut Oil, Organic Raw Agave Syrup, Organic Raw Cacao, Organic Raw Cacao Butter.

 

 

 

 

Rawtella 

Ingredients: Organic raw soaked and dehydrated hazelnuts, organic raw cacao nibs, truly raw Coconut Secret coconut sugar.

 

 

 

 

 

  Bright Earth FoodsChoco’Raw

Ingredients: organic honey, organic raw criollo arriba cacao powder, organic sunflower oil, organic raw maca, organic raw lucuma, ground vanilla bean, organic raw bionectria ochroleuca mushrooms, organic cinnamon, organic pink himalayan sea salt, organic cayenne pepper.

 

 

Flow Foods’ Cacao Superfood Synergy ChocolatL

Ingredients: Raw agave, raw cacao, raw cacao powder, extra virgin coconut oil, maca root, vanilla extract, himalayan salt.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Chocolate & Brahmacharya

  1. Hi there. Good stuff! I love chocolate too but I avoid it most times because I tend to over do it a bit. I haven’t tried the organic products you mention here, but it is worth a try. I wrote an article on the hub pages a few months ago about the benefits of dark chocolate. As I stated in my article, research shows that dark chocolate helps to prevent heart disease, high blood pressure, and high cholesterol levels. Just in case you are interested, you can read more about dark chocolate here: http://carol3san.hubpages.com/hub/A-Daily-Dark-Chocolate-Tasty-Treat

    • sti says:

      Yes, dark chocolate does good things for you! Fortunately you CAN’T overdo it if you choose the the raw, vegan, varieties with no processed sugars. They’re delicious and contain all of the benefits your article mentions 🙂

  2. epilepsymeandneurology says:

    ffworrr! quite a list !! hand’t realised there were so many choccy varieties to add to my current addiction problem! I have provamel soya pudding and frankly at my worst anything chocolaty will do! or coffee… but kid myself that decaf is better! which concidering the number of chemicals they probably stick in it is quite a worry! Choctastic!

  3. sti says:

    Haha there are worse things to be addicted to! 🙂

  4. […] of these guilt free chocolate options. Cacao is extremely healthy. A healthy treat to make on your own is raw liquid chocolate: […]

words

