Alexander the Great Meets a Yogi

The Yogi

The Yogi

“When Alexander the Great was busy conquering the world far and wide, he came at last to India.

When he was about to return to his country, he remembered that his
people had asked him to bring to them an Indian yogi. They had heard
a lot about yogis and were very desirous of seeing one, meeting him,
hearing him speak and receiving his blessings. Alexander was told
that the yogis dwelt in the forest.

In quest of a yogi he went to a forest. Sure enough, he found one
sitting underneath a tree, in deep meditation. He waited patiently
until the yogi opened his eyes. They shone with a strange, mystic
light.

Reverently, Alexander requested the yogi to accompany him to Greece,
saying.

“I will give you everything you need or ask for. But, pray, do come
with me. My people would love to meet you!”

The yogi quietly answered, “I need nothing, I am happy where I am.”

This was the first time that anyone had turned down Alexander’s
request. He could not control himself. He flew into a rage.

And unsheathing his sword, he thundered, “Do you know who is
speaking to you? I am the great king Alexander. If you will not listen to me. I shall
kill you- cut you into pieces!”

Unperturbed, the yogi answered. “You cannot kill me. You can only
kill my body. And the body is but a garment I have worn. I am not
the body. I am that which dwells within the body.”

The yogi continued, “You say you are a king. May I tell you, who you
are? You are a slave of my slave!”

Stunned. Alexander asked. “How am I a slave of your slave?”

In a voice tender with compassion, the yogi explained. “I have
mastered anger. Anger is my slave. See, how easily you gave way to anger. You are a
slave of anger, and, therefore, a slave of my slave!”

_______________________________________________________________________________________

This delightful story reminds me to never become a slave to my negative emotions, and most of all my temper. Pain and difficulty will always try to spark a reaction from you, but it’s up to you to respond as an ‘Alexander,’ or a ‘Yogi.’ The more we stoke the fires of anger, sadness, and struggle in our lives the more power we give them. In this case, Alexander may not have seen his anger as a weakness, but the yogi shed light on the strong influence that it had over Alexander’s life. As yogis, our practice is a bulletproof armor to stop the external forces that persuade us to define ourselves by these negative emotions. And that is truly powerful.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

42 thoughts on “Alexander the Great Meets a Yogi

  1. epilepsymeandneurology says:

    love this story!

  2. […] Because Jill was recovering she was learning how to deal with these emotions for the first time and had to learn to choose how to deal with them. If she didn’t like the way it felt she chose not to let it back into her neural loops. She says paying attention to what emotions feel like has completely shaped her recovery. She realised she was in charge of how she chose to perceive her experience. Little Windmill posted a really good story about Alexander the great and a yogi and anger which illustrates this; http://littlewindmillyoga.com/2012/12/05/alexander-the-great-meets-a-yogi/ […]

  3. web site says:

    Its like you learn my mind! You appear to understand so much about this, like
    you wrote the e-book in it or something. I believe that you just can do with some p.c.
    to drive the message house a little bit, but instead of
    that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely
    be back.

  4. Valorie says:

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon
    this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & assist other customers like its aided me.
    Great job.

  5. I do trust all of the ideas you have introduced on your post.
    They’re really convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for beginners. May you please prolong them a little from
    subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  6. Why viewers still make use of to read news papers
    when in this technological world the whole thing is available
    on web?

  7. Charis says:

    Wow, superb blog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging
    for? you made blogging look easy. The full glance of your site is magnificent, as neatly as the content!

  8. You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the
    article you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as
    you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  9. Very good write-up. I certainly love this website.

    Continue the good work!

  10. You can do this by ensuring they eat sufficient fruit and vegetables.

    There are a few factors you want to consider when purchasing a superfood drink powder.

    Blueberries Chock filled with anti-oxidants and also phytoflavinoids,
    Blueberries are also high in potassium as well as ascorbic acid.

  11. Awesome things here. I’m very satisfied to look your post.

    Thank you so much and I am taking a look forward to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  12. I think the admin of this web site is actually
    working hard in support of his site, as here every data is quality based data.

  13. I love what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

  14. I rarely leave a response, however i did some searching
    and wound up here Alexander the Great Meets a Yogi | little windmill.
    And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Could it be only me or does it look like a few of the
    responses look as if they are coming from brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional social
    sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have
    to post. Could you make a list of every one of all your shared
    pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or
    linkedin profile?

  15. Article writing is also a fun, if you be acquainted with afterward you can write or
    else it is difficult to write.

  16. Amazing! Its really remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear idea about from
    this post.

  17. It’s remarkable to pay a visit this web site and reading the views of all friends regarding this post, while I am also eager of getting know-how.

  18. Deena says:

    Hello! I know this is somewhat off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website such as yours require a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal every day.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and feelings
    online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

  19. nike pink says:

    Awesome blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with
    a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many
    choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Kudos!

  20. Some people criticize this as a flawless design for
    i – Phone and prefer their old i – Phone. And, we have a winner
    in the “Which i – Phone 5C will sell out first” sweepstakes, which took place on Friday, Sept.
    Pay – Pal is used as the means of making the payments and after you have
    paid, an download facility is provide to you instantly and
    after this you will be facilitated by unlocking the iphone
    easily.

  21. Thanks to my father who informed me on the topic of
    this blog, this website is actually amazing.

  22. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the
    web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that
    they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the
    whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  23. Pretty component to content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing for your feeds or even I success you get entry
    to constantly rapidly.

  24. Excellent post. I’m going through some of these issues as well..

  25. It doesn’t sell in a lot of capacity to do additional acquisitions.
    Students can also get your monthly payment lowered if you are
    for profit or not for profit world and the training world because Apollo really is working in all three
    of kindergarten us run the Tourney. Depending on your needs and
    expectations. Superior Court Judge Clarence Seeliger ruled in October against DeKalb’s claim that
    it was won a lot of potatoes which are very difficult.

  26. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My website has
    a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot
    of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.
    Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  27. domain names says:

    The real problem happens when you run into smaller companies that have different symbols
    or names trademarked that you’ve never heard of in the past.
    You really can profit from your domain name investments by adding
    value and properly developing your web properties. But, like the title of this section suggests, there IS a great way for the little guy to cash in on expired domain name traffic.

  28. Dollie says:

    I do believe all the concepts you’ve offered to your post.
    They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too quick for beginners.
    Could you please extend them a bit from subsequent
    time? Thanks for the post.

  29. Not working? says:

    I am really inspired together with your writing
    skills and also with the format on your weblog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a
    nice weblog like this one these days..

  30. Howdy! I simply want to offer you a big thumbs up for your
    great information you’ve got right here on this post. I
    am coming back to your website for more soon.

  31. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog readers have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  32. barcelona is the true promised land says:

    http://www.jesuswasnotajew.com/page-5-2/

    check out the links in the video’s description and the comments in the video.

  33. Car Garage says:

    Have you ever thought about including a little
    bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all.

    Nevertheless think of if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could
    certainly be one of the greatest in its niche. Great blog!

  34. Trying to make your ex jealous is one of the worst points you can do if you desire to
    obtain back with your ex, given that all it is going to do is reveal
    him that you have actually relocated on and that he
    ought to do the exact same. Stay clear of getting dismayed if he is seeing somebody else, since
    you won’t be able to stop it no issue exactly what you try.

  35. Wow, marvelous weblog format! How lengthy have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging glance easy. The whole glance of your site is
    wonderful, let alone the content material!

  36. Tracie says:

    As the years passed, shingles and other materials
    became more popular on roofs than using sheets of metal.
    Finally the steel is sprayed with an outer coating that creates architectural appeal.
    The contract should state the proposed work,
    cost and date of completion.

  37. go Here now says:

    If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, just
    pay a visit this web page daily for the reason that it
    presents feature contents, thanks

  38. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as
    well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my
    very own blog now 😉

  39. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this website needs far more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  40. You can be hay day cheats downloaded to PC games, top known game applications, it can be
    sure of finding enjoyment in his cellphone. There are tons
    of stuff on the hay day cheats side walls of buildings.

  41. The game play stardom hollywood cheats but challenging as you like and never a Curse.
    Right from the pre-installed image collection set provided by BlueStacks App Player.

words

