Asana of the Week: Hanumanasana-Splits

Silvia Mordini in Hanumanasana- www.silviamordini.com

My beautiful mentor Silvia Mordini in Hanumanasana- http://www.silviamordini.com

It isn’t until recently that the splits, hanumanasana, has been something that I thought was available to me. I have been taking classes recently where the peak pose is splits, or your attempt at splits. The sequences leading up to the splits are all intelligently crafted to open your hips, quads, glutes, etc. That is what I love about ‘intelligent vinyasa’ that I am learning in teacher training; it sets you up for success.

Make sure you are very warm, and loosy goosey in your hip flexors before you attempt hanumanasana. From half splits, I inch my front foot forward as far as it will go, then I take my back leg back and prop myself up on blocks. Hold like this for as long as you can, relax into the stretch and your muscles will release more. Sometimes I prop my legs up on the blocks, sometimes I put them underneath my hands next to me and hold myself up.

I like this video tutorial.

I’d love to see a cool splits picture on your blog if it’s in your practice! Comment a link and I’ll compile a post of our awesome accomplishments!

Give it a try! I’ll let you know my progress soon!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

words

