Yoga for Runners

Long down dog on a wall. Gently stretches your shoulders and back.

Long down dog on a wall. Gently stretches your shoulders and back

Low runner's lunge with a quad stretch

Low runner’s lunge with a quad stretch

Dancer's Pose/ Quad stretch

Dancer’s Pose/ Quad stretch

Runner's head to knee pose

Runner’s head to knee pose

Wall dog with a calf stretch

Wall dog with a calf stretch

A bright, 29° Saturday in January turned out to make the best running weather. I know all you runners know this- but it is SO important to stretch after you run! What do you have to lose?! 5 minutes of browsing Facebook or Reddit? In that time you can prevent injury and increase your range of motion and just feel good.

Most agree that it’s not good to stretch cold muscles, so I usually stretch for 5 minutes about 1.5 miles in (good excuse for a rest!) and 15 minutes when I get back. Mind you- I do yoga daily so this is not the only stretching I do. If you are exclusively a runner I would suggest 30 minutes of stretching or whatever you have time for. Yoga is for everyone!

DO’S & DON’TS

Don’t rush it! Take your time to breath into each muscle group you are stretching, aiming for approximately 1 minute per side

Do listen to your body. What’s feeling tight today? Where could you use a little extra love and relaxation? It might even be your shoulders or low back.

Do stretch each side equally. Don’t fudge on the second side.

Don’t force it. Just like in yoga-only do what feels good and don’t try to force your body somewhere it doesn’t want to go. Sensation is okay, but pain isn’t.

Happy Running!

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Yoga for Runners

  1. I disagree. I do not strech before or after running. A lot of ultra runners (like me) will agree. I only strech during a long run if I tighten up or cramp. There has been much debate over the years about whether or not to stretch. Recreational runners as well as personal trainers tell you to do it, but a lot of die-hard ultra runners never do. Since I stopped stretching before my runs, I have become stronger, faster and healthier. Just my 2 cents.

    • sti says:

      I see! I am not an experienced runner so I can’t say for sure. I guess stretching may prevent the cramping during long runs, and lubricate your joints so you can run for many years to come!

  2. […] Yoga for Runners (littlewindmillyoga.com) […]

words

