Ayurveda Cleanse Day 1

Kitchari (kitch-a-ree)

This morning I had my first bites of kitchari. I went for simple the first day- mung beans, basmati rice, cilantro, spices, and coconut oil. The smell was so good coming from the rice maker this morning that it actually woke me up! It’s pretty tasty, hot definitely better than cold. It looks a bit…predigested, but seasoned well it’s hearty and filling. I found skipping coffee easier than I had anticipated. I had a cup of warm water as planned and felt okay with that. I arrived at work around 6:30 and felt fine.

At about 8:30 I hit a wall. Somehow I knew it was sugar I wanted, not caffeine. I don’t crave candy or white sugar, but I’d kill for some fresh fruit right now! I have had a headache since around then, but it got better when I had my second serving of kitchari and some herbal tea.

I am blessed to work in a place where fresh raw juices are being pressed all day long, so I treated myself to a shot of pure parsley juice and some grapefruit, kale, lime, and alfalfa juices. That seemed to curb the headache a bit too. I considered cutting the juices completely too, but they are so nutrient dense that I feel like they could only help, as long as I stay away from the extra sweet ones.

Before hot yoga I was feeling very hungry in combination with my headache, but I’m happy to report both are gone! I just had my dinner serving of kitchari and feel much better. I suppose I eat many more calories normally than I have today, which is why I’m so low energy today.

I can’t wait to see how tomorrow goes!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

words

