Ayurveda Cleanse Day 2: Detoxing with Pranayama

An Update:

Thank goodness the headache is gone today. Unfortunately I’m having some sinus pressure, I remember that happening during my juice cleanse too but I’ve never heard anyone else mention that symptom. It faded mid morning and all went back to normal. I devoured my first two servings of kitchari already today and in between had smalls cups of carrot lime juice and kale cucumber lime juice with a dash of apple. No pure parsley shots today but the juice definitely clears that foggy brain feeling.

Yoga went well again, sweating is always nice although my body doesn’t feel as flexible or strong as when I’m on a raw food diet. I will admit I just had double servings of kitchari…this batch was so good and I was hungry! The no water with meals thing is tough for me too! Apparently water during meals dilutes the digestive enzymes and makes it difficult to absorb nutrients.

Tomorrow night I think I’ll treat myself to a more gourmet version with veggies and whatever my personal chef boyfriend concocts. Namaste!

Detox Tip #1: 

I’ve been reading about the detoxifying effects of pranayama.

Deep breathing, where you fill your belly and expand your diaphragm downwards, is one of the most powerful exercise you can do to activate your lymph system which helps to detoxify your body. Your lymph system is what gets the garbage out. Practice 10 deep slow breaths counting 4 seconds in, 8 seconds hold and 8 seconds out.

According to the ‘Tao of Breathing’ up to 70% of our body’s waste products are eliminated via our lungs and the rest through the urine, skin and feces. When the efficiency of our lungs is reduced due to poor breathing less oxygen is available to our cells, it slows down the flow of blood which carries wastes from the kidneys and lungs. Our lymphatic system which fights off viral and bacterial invaders is weakened along with a slower digestive process.It’s all about the breath!

Deep_Breathing

just in case you forgot how to breathe

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

words

