Ayurveda Cleanse Day 3

An Update:

I added a bit of sweet potato to my kitchari after yoga today…SO good. I highly recommend it. Just sauteed a bit in coconut oil and through it into my normal mixture. Since today I am not at work, I was feeling low blood sugar creep in with the absence of the fruit/vegetable juices, so the sweet potato was perfect. I just read that you can go off the cleanse with a one day juice cleanse, I think I’ll do that friday.

The kind folks at The Herbalist set me up with a special detox herbal tincture for my cleanse! I’m going to make some tinctures of my own in the next week to see how they turn out, their benefits are amazing!

This one has Oregon Grape root, Yellow Dock root, Burdock root, Dandelion root, and fennel. I will let you know how it effects me after a full day of use.

image

Tastes like rotten garbage…That must mean it’s working!

Detox Tip #2

Lemon water! I know it sounds obvious, but it has really saved the day for me! On cleanses your sense of smell and taste are heightened, and the lemon water tastes so flavorful and delicious! As much as I miss my morning coffee, these benefits of drinking warm lemon water in the morning are hard to ignore:

Boosts your immune system. Lemons are high in Vitamin C and potassium. Vitamin C is great for fighting colds and potassium stimulates brain and nerve function and helps control blood pressure.
Balances pH. Lemons are an incredibly alkaline food. Yes, they are acidic on their own, but inside our bodies they’re alkaline (the citric acid does not create acidity in the body once metabolized). An alkaline body is apparently the key to good health.
Aids digestion. The warm water serves to stimulate the gastrointestinal tract and peristalsis—the waves of muscle contractions within the intestinal walls that keep things moving. Lemons and limes are also high in minerals and vitamins and help loosen ama, or toxins, in the digestive tract.
Acts as a gentle, natural diuretic. Lemon juice helps flush out unwanted materials because lemons increase the rate of urination in the body. Toxins are, therefore, released at a faster rate which helps keep your urinary tract healthy.
Clears skin. The vitamin C helps decrease wrinkles and blemishes. Lemon water purges toxins from the blood which helps keep skin clear as well.
Hydrates the lymph system. This cup of goodness helps start the day on a hydrated note, which helps prevent dehydration (obviously) and adrenal fatigue. Your adrenals are also responsible for regulating your stress response. So, things like yoga can only control it up to a certain point, your diet must help out!
Tagged , , , , , ,

words

