Ayurveda Cleanse: The Exciting Conclusion!

I made it! 5 days of Ayurveda cleansing complete! Okay maybe not extremely exciting, but my cleanse week has taught me a couple of things:

Simplicity is key. Don’t over think your food choices. Obsessing about everything you eat will just give you more anxiety surrounding food. The nice thing about cleansing is eliminating a couple decisions from your day. When you start to over-complicate your diet, that’s when you start over or under eating and digestion gets messed up. Find a few meals that you like and can have on a daily basis. It will be more cost efficient and make you feel better in the long run.

I don’t need as much food as I think I do. I ate 1 cup of kitchari for each meal. A cup of kitchari has about 300 calories, totaling 900 calories a day give or take a couple hundred calories of coconut oil.

I run better on raw foods. During my cleanse, I didn’t feel so great during yoga. When I’m following a raw food diet, I feel flexible and strong, but eating kitchari was making me feel tired and stiff in my practice. I know that it’s a different story for every body, but this was my experience.

It’s nice to restart. It felt wonderful to break the not-so-great diet habits I had developed. After my cleanse I felt like I had pressed the restart button and could start from page 1 with my diet choices. Eating a mono-diet has made me appreciate so much the different flavors and textures of food, I can savor and have gratitude for each bite.

Enjoy your food! It is one of the great pleasures in life. Sitting down to a family dinner, baking cookies for a loved one, sipping lemonade on the front porch…

Habits I will hold on to:

Tongue scraping. It just makes so much sense to me. White icky stuff on your tongue? Scrape it off!

The media diet. Waking up and not immediately staring at my email inbox was one of the things that made this week great. I am making a commitment to leave my cell phone alone until I walk out the door.

Warm water. Warm water with lemon made me feel bright and energized. That stays.

To your health!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

words

