5 Minute Gratitude Meditation

acupuncture-and-gratitudeOf the eight limbs of yoga, four or more are based on meditation. The goal when doing yoga postures is to open the hips, strengthen the back, and quiet the mind so we can sit comfortably and meditate. Studies show that people who regularly acknowledge the things they are thankful for live happier lives, so I started this meditation so I can express these things to myself even on days when I only have five minutes to sit down and meditate.

Other thoughts will come up, but you don’t have to chase them. Don’t go to war with your brain’s honorable attempt to do its job. So grab a seat in criss cross apple sauce or hero’s pose, and let’s get started.

Minute one

Take this minute to focus on your breath. Inhale for five counts, exhale for five counts. Walk your internal gaze through your body, breathing into any places that you’re holding tension.

Minute two

Think of all the things you are thankful for in yourself. All of the parts of your character that help you to spread positivity and light to those around you. Avoid ‘wishing’ you were a certain way, and remember that even the little things are worth acknowledging.

Minute three

Think of every person you are thankful for in your life. Surely one minute will not be enough, but just flip through your mental photo album of everyone who loves, supports, and pushes you to do better. Taking just a minute to do this every day will enrich your relationships, even if it’s just subconscious.

Minute four

Fill in the blank with your own thank you prayer to the universe. Mine today- Thank you. I am grateful. I am grateful for this moment. I am thankful for my family, the roof over my head, my boyfriend, my friends. I am thankful for my process, and what I have accomplished in my life so far.

Minute five

Repeat the mantra: My life is full and abundant.

I like to listen to a 5-6 minute song playing quietly in the background to keep in the back of my mind how much time has passed, and I know some people who even set an alarm on their phones.

NAMASTE!

grateful4 always thankful

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Gratitude Meditation

  1. […] 5 Minute Gratitude Meditation (littlewindmillyoga.com) […]

words

