Handstand Challenge

handstand

Handstands and inversions in general have always been a problem for me. I’m not sure if it’s self trust, or just fear of having my hips over my shoulders, but I’ll elaborate that in a future post.

I’ve studied friends in inversions carefully and taken various workshops to try to get over the wall, but I can’t seem to shake the heaviness that I feel when I try them. Even jumping forward, I can’t seem to shake the fear of putting the weight of my body into my hands. I excel at low-to-the-ground arm balances, but when it comes to throwing my limbs in the air, it feels exhausting and out of reach.

Today I found this article via twitter from the folks over at Mind Body Green written by Lara Heimann:

Handstand Therapy:
1. Get on all fours and push down into your hands as you lift your belly up. Gently lift the knees off the ground and hover, challenging the arms and core. Lower the knees and repeat 5-10 times.
2. In Down Dog, walk your feet forward 6-12 inches, press into your hands, and keep your collarbones spread. Then walk your feet back. Repeat five times, keeping your hands fully pressed into the floor the whole time.
3. For Down Dog on the wall, first come into a Down Dog with your heels touching the wall. Walk your feet up, ideally at a 90-degree angle. With your neck relaxed and arms pressed straight, roll your biceps in and pull your front ribs and low belly toward your back. Hold 15 seconds, increasing the duration to progress. You’ll likely shake, but this means you’re truly building the strength that you need to hold a handstand off the wall.
4. In standing split, keep your top leg at a 90-degree angle, with your toes facing the floor. Cobra the spine forward, gazing out slightly. Press down into your hands, lift your belly up, and lightly press your bottom foot down to push off. Do not kick your top leg. Focus on pressing down into your hands to get off the ground.
Handstands are fun, and are great for the body and the brain. So go and play!
I am going to make my best effort to practice these techniques at home a couple times a week, and I’d love for you to join me! I need to challenge myself to develop the muscle memory to improve my inversions, even though #3 is my least favorite thing to do and the cause of a near panic attack most of the time. But hey- getting out of the comfort zone is where the magic happens, right?
Handstand inspiration from Kinetic Vigilantes:
Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Handstand Challenge

  1. Still fear the handstand. Did it a few times but I think I don’t trust the strength in my arms. I’ll get there, just like I did the headstand and forearm stand. Great video.

words

