Why “Healthy eating and an active lifestyle ARE my health insurance!” doesn’t work

As an active person with a healthy diet, I’m fairly confident that I will not develop heart disease, type 2 diabetes, hypertension, or any other obesity related illness in my lifetime. Considering the flabbergasting costs of America’s obesity epidemic, I’m saving my insurance companies a load of money in that department. Other fitness professionals can say the same thing, “Healthy eating and an active lifestyle ARE my health insurance!” But that’s just half the battle. Life is so unpredictable, you never know what kind of crazy things are going to happen! Faulty toasters killed 791 people last year, and chairs killed 592 (how does that even happen?). While each person has a different situation, the stats show that about 44 million people in this country have no health insurance, and another 38 million have inadequate health insurance. Medical bills are the leading cause of bankruptcy in the United States. This means that nearly one-third of Americans face each day without the security of knowing that, if and when they need it, medical care is available to them and their families. Yikes.

Which brings me to the latest example of how sometimes bad things happen to good people. Brett Valentine is an incredible IntenSati teacher and life coach in the Seattle area. Here is a Clif’s notes version of what happened to this inspiring man, as written by his husband Levi:

Image

Labor day weekend Brent, myself and our 206 family went to Mossyrock, WA to camp, spend the weekend celebrating a birthday and catching up with each other. Brent, through a series of events, darkness and a unfortunate turn in the wrong direction ran off of a cliff. He did it with as much gusto as he approaches life. Brent fell approximately 8 to 10 feet straight down onto a riverbed of solid rock. He landed on his right side of his face and front of his body. He was unconscious and when I got to him just seconds after the fall he was bleeding from the ear, his nose and his mouth. Brent was sent to Providence Centralia Hospital. There it was determined that he had fractured his Orbital bone on the right side of his face, needed stitches on his face, as well as fractured the Scaphoid bone in his left wrist. As he was being discharged his doctor found reason for concern with the function of his eyeball and he was now, instead of going back to camping, headed to Harborview Medical Center back home in Seattle for further specialty review. At Harborview it was realized that the Orbital bone was not as bad as the doctor thought but the fractured Scaphoid was going to be a problem and surgery was going to happen. Since that diagnosis on Sunday Brent and I have been living at Harborview Medical Center. Brent will have a long road to recovery. There will be other surgeries to remove the pins and screws that hold his wrist together. There will be physical therapy and numerous follow-up doctors visits. Brent will be out of work for an extended period of time due to the nature of his injury and his line of work. He is a man that has given so much to others, and I hope this can be used as an avenue for those good deeds to now be returned through donation. Brent carries no medical insurance and after our recent marriage he now falls just outside of the bracket for financial assistance to cover his medical bills. The amount of money that is building up in medical costs is large and I am asking for your help, on behalf of Brent Valentine, because I know he IS WORTH IT! Any donation will go directly to medical expenses and loss of wages. If you do know Brent you already know that this man is worth helping, and I hope you will pass this page on to your friends and family because you believe in him getting the help he needs to get fully back on his feet.
Read the full story and see pictures and updates here. A story like Brett’s gives me an extra reminder of how blessed I am to be safe and healthy. If you are inspired at all by this story, I encourage you to give anything you can to this amazing man!
Namaste!
Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Why “Healthy eating and an active lifestyle ARE my health insurance!” doesn’t work

  1. Amparo says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run
    into any issues of plagorijsm or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping
    it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any methods
    to help stop content from being ripped off?

    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  2. site says:

    At this moment I am going to do my breakfast, later than having my breakfast coming over again to read additional news.

  3. Very good post. I absolutely love this website.
    Continue the good work!

  4. Reyna says:

    Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my website thus i came to return the desire?.I’m trying to to find things to enhance my website!I guess its adequate to
    make use of a few of your ideas!!

words

